Posted in Book, Uncategorized

All in a day’s work ( Unpublished excerpt from Twice Blessed)- Part 2/3

Part 2 : The Sting Operation

Make sure you have read Part 1: The Acrimonious Beginning 

I needed to think and nothing like going for a drive, to think. I picked up my keys, told Prabhat I was going for a drive and that I would be reachable over the phone. I also promised to be back in a few minutes. I stepped out, put the ride in gear and set out.

I did not follow any predetermined route but soon I found myself crossing the ad agency, which had released our ad. I had half a mind to storm in and lay it on them. Then I thought better of it. They may have been unethical but I was not unlawful. After wandering aimlessly for an hour or so, I got an idea.

I googled the contact details of the brand that had stolen our ‘crackle’, the cherished nickname we had given our now infamous campaign. Then I logged into LinkedIn and dug out the name of the company’s Marketing Manager. I called their offices and asked to speak with the gentleman. I told them, I was a friend. The telephone operator connected the call to him.

To him, I gave a false name and introduced myself as a recruiter. I told him, truthfully, that I had found his profile online, and was interested in discussing an exciting opportunity.

“Thank you very much, Ms. Manali, for considering me, but I am not looking for a change right now.”

“I know, you are on top of the world, right now. I saw your advertisement in the paper today and that’s how I decided to find you. I must congratulate you on an exceptional effort.”

“You saw our ad? That is wonderful. Thank you very much for your appreciation.”

“It must have taken you weeks to plan it?”

“We have been planning it for over 6 months. Today’s ad is only the beginning of the full campaign.”

“6months!” I exclaimed and thought to myself that was odd. We had been working on it for only last 3 months.

“You know, how it is. We work with an external ad agency and they came up with the ‘crackle’’ campaign 6 months ago. It took so long for us to plan and implement it completely. It is timed to beat year-end business competition. You know how competitive our market had become”

They also called it ‘crackle’!! Things were getting murkier by the minute. I persisted.“I do but if you hear me out, I am sure, the opportunity I have in mind will also seem challenging to you.”

“I am sure, it is an exciting offer but right now I am enjoying my work. I have a free hand here to implement my ideas. I am just beginning to warm up to the market. I want to see how far I can go, before I get bored. Only then, I plan to shift. I am sorry.”

“That’s really tough for me. I was hoping, I could tempt you. I liked your ad and my client is looking for someone who thinks like that. “

“Sorry I cannot take this further.”

“No problem, but maybe you can still help me?”

“Sure, would you like me to refer any other pals of mine?”

“Exactly, but I am interested in a very specific pal. You said, you used an ad agency for the campaign. So you will know who came up with this campaign there. I would like to speak to him or her.”

“Ha Ha, you liked the campaign a lot, I see. Well, we work with “The Catalyst” for all our ads and I deal with their client service person mainly, but I think this campaign was designed by their creative executive, Swarna. She is a new hire, and came up with this idea within a week of our giving them a brief. We were very impressed with all her ideas, actually. This was the best of the lot. “

“Can you share her number and last name, please?”

“Sure, she is Mrs. Swarna Rao and she is reachable on extension 13. I am afraid, I don’t have a personal number for her.”

“That’s all right. Shall I wait a couple of days before I call her? Is there any chance of you changing your mind? I could hold on!

“Ha , ha. Would you be interested in a job in our business development team? If so, I could arrange an interview. We are looking for someone with the same ‘never give up’ philosophy.”

“Ha, ha. Now it’s my turn to decline but thank you very much. I will be in touch later, if something that is perfect for you comes up.”

“Sure, after a few years I hope.”

“It was nice talking to you. Thank you very much. Have a wonderful day!”

“Thank you and wish you also a great day.”

 

I sat back and took stock of all that I had gleaned out of him. He seemed quite straight forward. The time line he quoted was quite off, though. Why would he say 6 months when the crackle campaign had not even been conceived then? Was he in on the espionage with the ad agency?

I checked out Mrs. Swarna Rao on LinkedIn. She was new all right. Maybe a little more than 6 moths at The Catalyst. This could be her first creative project for there. She was not new to the trade though. She had worked in other agencies before but all of them were out of town, at Mumbai. Maybe she moved here after marriage and joined The Catalyst, I thought.

Then I spotted something interesting. She was in my network! She was Prabhat’s connection and so she was in my network. Prabhat ! what goof up had he done, this time, I thought feeling sick. He was prone to disasters but this was huge, even for him.

The bugger had denied knowing people at The Catalyst. Maybe, he didn’t. I thought. She could have joined work there after they connected online. They might not know each other otherwise. It was not necessary that all roads from disaster lead to him. He was the guy who couldn’t copy without breaking the machine, after all. How could he steal with panache? He had to be given the benefit of doubt, surely.

I put my car in gear and headed to work. The Boss ushered me in the moment I stepped in, still in his “shoot to kill” mood.

“Where did you go, without informing anyone?”

“I had to clear my head and think. Besides, I did tell Prabhat and I kept my phone on all the time. He didn’t tell you?”

“He left right after you did.”

“He never told me he was going somewhere. Where did he go?”

“God knows! Both of you are gallivanting in and out of here, as through you are kings and heave no need to report to anyone.”

“Oh, Alok, that’s not true, and you know it. I just needed to think about all this that is happening and clear my head. That’s all. “

“You should have at least informed someone responsible.”

“Did something come up? you did not call me!”

“No, I am just keeping track of everyone. Prabhat is not answering my phone. He left right behind you so I thought he was with you.”

“Nope, I did not see him. Wait, let me try his number”

“He’s not answering anyone’s call. I hope he’s not gone and done anything stupid, like run away from home! I have enough problems without adding personal ones to the list.”

I had not thought of that. Prabhat was unusual in his ways but was he capable of running away for a showdown with his boss, who also happened to be his brother in law. I wasn’t sure. But, one thing became clearer. He was involved in some way, or the other. I just did not know how. I had to find out. “Don’t raise alarm bells, just yet. Let me check out the his usual hangouts, ok. We’ll find him and this problem will also get resolved. I am sure. Give it a little time. “

“It’s ok, I will track him. What did Bean Bag say?”The Boss wanted to know.

“That he loves us! But Alok, there is a lot of bad mouthing going on. The word about this fiasco is being blown out of proportion and spread to our clients. If Bean Bag’s version is anything to go by then there is some serious PR (Public Relations) needed. “

“I am well aware of what needs to be done and its being done. Now tell me exactly what he said.” As I filled him in, The Boss listened, nodding occasionally. He then picked up the phone and spoke to the PR team, to come into his cabin. He made me repeat my interaction with Bean Bag, for their benefit. He then excused me and continued speaking with the PR guys about stopgap arrangements, no doubt. “Poor Alok”, I thought. “What a mess”.

I called the Prabhat, again without success. I was in my “bulldozer” mood, you know the one in which, I just charge forward and don’t care what gets crushed underneath. The agency’s reputation, my reputation, so many people’s livelihood and a multitude of other important things were at stake here and somehow, Prabhat was involved.

Prabhat was my responsibility. The day was getting worse by the minute and I just needed to get to the bottom of it before The Boss carried out his threat and suspended me. I found the number for The Catalyst online and dialled extension 13. Someone picked the call and I asked for Swarna. I was informed, she was not at her desk.

“Oh, just a second. Here she comes; I will give her the phone.”

“Thank you”, I told the voice who had been so helpful and had not asked a single word about who I was!

“Hello?” a new voice said.

“Hello, Is this Mrs. Swarna Rao?”

“Yes, May I know who this is?”

Oh, Shit! I had not planned what I was going to say to her. Think fast Tamannah!

“Hello! Can you hear me ma’m?” the voice at the other end, said hesitantly.

“I am Amrinder Kaur, Prabhat’s mother,” I said into the phone, crossing my fingers. I stepped out of the office, once again and used a stern tone. I needed this to work.

“Oh” was all she said and then silence.

“Are you there?” I almost barked into the phone. A passerby stared at me but I focussed on my conversation.

“Yes, I am here, aunty.”

“How do you know my son” I launched into attack.

“We were at college together, aunty.”

“He never mentioned your name while he was at college.”

“I bumped into him one day, a few months ago. We were not very good friends in college but since we live in the same city now, we stay in touch, that’s all.”

“I don’t know all that nonsense. My son has been acting strange all day and now he is not answering my phone. I just know, you are at the heart of all this.”

“I don’t know what you are talking about, aunty.” She said, sounding afraid.

“What is all this nonsense about this ad in today’s paper.?”

“What ad, aunty?” she said, trying to beat about the bush.

“You know which ad.”

“There is no nonsense, aunty. I really don’t know what you are trying to ask me. If you don’t mind, you should be asking these questions to Prabhat. I am sure he can answer them.”

“I am sure, he can. But he has to answer my call for that to happen. So, you fill me in, in the meantime. My son-in-law is threatening to call the police. At least, I should know if my lawyer should apply for anticipatory bail.”

“I don’t know what you are talking about, really. I am at work, I have to go.”

“Clearly, you are not his friend. You are just someone who went to college with him. Well, don’t tell me I did not warn you. My son-in-law is in a real rage today and even my daughter is not able to stop him from going to the police. You are not my son’s well wisher but I am still warning you. You also better speak to your lawyer. After all, once my son goes in, it’s just a matter of time before, your turn comes.”

“I have done nothing illegal and nobody can take any legal action against me for anything I have not done”

“That’s really for the police and courts to decide. What can we do about it? Once a complaint is filed, action will be taken”

“You are simply trying to frighten me. How dare you call me at work and threaten me.” She was finding her feet now. I had to strike or back out, or else I would be the one in soup.

“Look, my child, I don’ t have your personal number , or I would have called on it. As it is, I went to all the trouble of finding out where you worked and your office number, so I can understand the situation better and help both of you. But you are obviously innocent and are not worried for yourself. So forget that I called. Have a good day.”

“You went to all this trouble because Prabhat did not pick your call.”

“Haven’t you been listening? I don’t worry about grown up sons not picking my call once or twice but I do worry when my usually cool and composed son-in-law promises to see my son in hell for what he has done. Top of that, Prabhat is not answering his phone. Desperate times call for desperate measures. I take it you have spoken to him today. So you know the situation.”

“You are sure about your son-in-law, taking legal action?”

“Why would I joke about such a serious matter?”

“Prabhat did not do anything illegal, neither did I.”

“Really! That’s what I have heard all day.”

“Prabhat mentioned my name? How did you know about me?”

“My son is an idiot but he would never give up his accomplices. He did not mention any names.  But I am not stupid. I worked it out, myself. If I can, so can the police, you know!”

“I keep telling you, I did not do anything illegal.”

“I believe you.”

“You don’t do you?”

“My opinion is worth two hoots in court, as I keep reminding you.”

“I tell you, there was nothing  illegal in whatever we did.”

“Really, “whatever” you did!! Is that how you are going to play this one, now?”

“Look aunty, it’s not illegal to share creative ideas.”

“It is if you are going to copy an ad word for word, especially if you got money from two clients for the same ad.”

“That’s not how it was.”

“That is how it looks, from where the police, stand.”

“Look aunty, I just shared some storyboards that were rejected by our client, with Prabhat. I did not know that it was approved until much later and I did not even know that he used them in his campaign until today. I refuse to take the blame for this fiasco. I did nothing illegal. If you or your family call the police on me, I swear my husband will sue everyone involved, including Prabhat.” Bang and the line went dead.

Watch this space for Part 3 (Conclusion)

Read more about Tamannah and her adventures at Twice Blessed – A Sneak Peak ! 

Do post your comments and follow this blog to receive updates.

 

Author:

The written word has always been my forte and this blog is the starting point of my online journey. The plan is to start a dialogue through conversation and collaboration. Some areas I hope to cover include, Writing, Women Empowerment, Freedom, Politics, Business... you get the drift. If you see something that interests you, hop on, post a comment, and join the dialogue. Who knows, even if we don’t bring world peace, we might make someone happier for one day. It’s something to look forward to, right? See you on the other side of your comment!

Leave a comment